Mariah Carey – Touch My Body (2008 – Part 4)

Touch My Body topping the charts put Mariah Carey on the 2nd spot of artists with most number ones, equaled only by Elvis and surpassed only by The Beatles. It was the 18th time a song of hers went all the way to the top position, and also the last one to do so as of now. If 2005’s The Emancipation of Mimi album worked as her comeback, than 2008’s E=MC² was a continuation of that, hence the name – the ‘E’ stands for ‘emancipation’, the ‘MC’ for ‘Mariah Carey’ and the second power gives the sequel character. It is of course also a pun on Albert Einstein’s mass-energy equivalence formula.

Touch My Body was the lead single of E=MC² and a rather fun song as opposed to Carey’s more emotional ballads. Nowhere is this more evident than in the song’s video, starring 30 Rock actor Jack McBrayer as a tech nerd that fantasizes about Mariah Carey as he’s trying to fix her computer. The pop singer spoke about the filming experience: “I love Brett because he is like me. If I’m eternally 12 – because he’s a little bit more naughty than I am – he’s eternally 15. He has a great sense of humor, obviously, and he knows that I have a sense of humor and he feels that people don’t recognize that about me.” Also worth noting is that the team responsible for the song-writing is also the one behind Rihanna’s Umbrella.

Touch My Body spent 2 consecutive weeks at number one in Billboard Top 100 before being dethroned by Leona Lewis’ Bleeding Love.

Leave a Reply

