Kelly Clarkson – My Life Would Suck Without You (2009 – Part 2)

Followers of 2000s and 2010s music will no doubt be aware of the success formula of the decades: Max Martin + any pop singer = #1 hit. I’ve written several times about the Swedish writer and producer so far, but Kelly Clarkson is another artist whose biggest songs have been shaped by Martin. 2004’s Since U Been Gone is such an example, a #2 hit. Then there’s Behind These Hazel Eyes with its #6 position in the charts. Or the biggest of them all, My Life Would Suck Without You, which climbed all the way to #1.

Clarkson called it both her favorite and least favorite single and further explained: “It’s my least favorite because when I first heard it, it did not sound like what it sounds like now, and I really had to fight to make that song better than it was. […] The verses were like ‘I saw you smoking pot and I thought that was cool’ (she sings) and I was like… What? I didn’t even get it, it was trying so hard to be edgy and cool”. Luckily, the writers allowed her to re-write the lyrics: “It ended up being one of my favorites now to perform live because everybody gets up for that song. And it’s a great song now, it’s a fun song.”

Within one week, the dysfunctional relationship portrait that is My Life Would Suck Without You jumped from the 97th position to the 1st, breaking the record for the all-time biggest leap in Billboard history.

My Life Would Suck Without You spent 2 consecutive weeks at number one in Billboard Top 100 before being dethroned by Eminem’s Crack a Bottle (featuring 50 Cent & Dr. Dre).

Leave a Reply

