P!nk – Raise Your Glass (2010 – Part 16)

2010 celebrated 10 years since Pink’s arrival on the musical scene. Five studio albums were released throughout the decade, all of them represented on Greatest Hits…So Far!!!, the compilation whose purpose was to celebrate all of the pop star’s successes up to that point. Pink’s debut, Can’t Take Me Home, was represented by There You Go. Four songs from her 2nd album, Missundaztood, were included: Get the Party Started, Don’t Let Me Get Me, Just like a Pill and Family Portrait. Trouble was chosen from Try This, and Stupid Girls, Who Knew, U + Ur Hand and Dear Mr. President from I’m Not Dead. Finally, from the home of the number one hit So What, Funhouse, 3 more songs were selected: Sober, Please Don’t Leave Me and Glitter in the Air.

Besides these hits, the compilation featured two completely new songs: Raise Your Glass and Fuckin’ Perfect. Both were released as singles to promote Greatest Hits…So Far!!! and both entered the Billboard Top 10, making them among Pink’s most successful hits ever. But if the latter stopped at #2, the former went all the way up to the top of the charts.

Raise Your Glass was written by Pink in collaboration with Max Martin and features the trademark characteristics of Martin’s compositional style: catchy, booming chorus and empowerment-themed lyrics. The pop singer tweeted that the song is dedicated to all the underdogs and its video follows the same themes, featuring a gay marriage among others. And apparently Pink’s inspiration came from a real-life event: “I threw my best friend’s wedding in my backyard — [she] is gay and she married her wife, and it was absolutely beautiful. At the end of it, her mom said, ’Why can’t this be legal?’ and started crying. It was just the most heartbreaking thing I’ve ever seen, so that’s why I’m doing it in my video.”

Raise Your Glass spent 1 week at number one in Billboard Top 100, before being dethroned by Katy Perry’s Firework.

5 responses to “P!nk – Raise Your Glass (2010 – Part 16)

  1. I’m so impressed with your writing skills. Your discussions of each song are excellent and informative, and the amount of research you have done is breathtaking! I spent weeks writing short descriptions for each of my Top 100 songs of the 2000’s, and your are more extensive an detailed than mine. Great job, and I love your blog!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I Love Pink. The first time I heard her–years ago, was that song –I can’t remember the title of the song but I’ve just been calling it “Sometimes it Be’s like that” –Well, I loved the song but thought she would be a one-hit wonder. I was so happy I was wrong. She is my eternal girl crush. She is the one female singer that my daughter and I have always loved to listen to together and when she collaberated with Linda Perry–I thought I would die of happiness!

    Thanks for this post!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

